It was a record turnout for the 2019 Homecoming Golf Tournament as 123 golfers matched golfing skills at the Ayala Greenfield Golf and Leisure Club last February 11, 2019.

In Photo: Alumni and guest golfers


The tournament kicked off with ceremonial tee shots by the host batch’s, MBM 1999, golfing members of the host batch of MBM 1999, led by Mr. James Ileto, Homecoming Golf 2019 Chair, Mr. Edric Hernandez and Ret. Gen. Gary Fallorina.


In Photo from L-R: Mr. James Ileto (MBM 1999), Ret. Gen. Gary Fallorina (MBM 1999) and Mr. Edric Hernandez (MBM 1999)




Alumni and guests enjoyed the challenging championship golf course designed by no less than Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Golfing conditions were perfect as sunny skies and a cool breeze prevailed during the entire day. Fast greens and some stiff winds added to the difficulty of the golf course, requiring players to bring out their A-games to score well.

After the round, the golfers gathered at the Club’s Rizal Ballroom for the lunch fellowship and awarding ceremony. As the golfers partook thehearty lunch, they were also treated to a refreshing iced cold beer from San Miguel and cocktails from Tanduay Distillers.

Despite all the travails on the golf course, the players had lots of fun and the camaraderie among alumni and guests was clearly evident. Players fondly recalled their rounds, gamely laughing at both good and bad shots and all the misfortunes that sometimes befall golfers out on the course.

Mr. Allan Tuazon, Homecoming 2019 Chair, and Mr. Ileto hosted the awarding ceremony and raffled off some prizes such as electric fans, bottles of wine, cases of beers and gift certificates from Starbucks and Perez Optical. Lucky golfers won gadgets like power banks and bluetooth speakers. For the major raffle, 2 big winners got to take home a 32-inch and a 40-inch LED TVs.

In Photo from L-R: Mr. James Ileto (MBM 1999), Mr. Cesar Zulueta (MBM 1983), Mr. Bernie Jiao, EMD of Alumni Relations Office (MBM 1989) and Mr. Allan Tuazon, Homecoming 2019 Chair (MBM 1999)


In the golfing competition, MBM 1999 came away with a big win as they bagged the 2019 Championship in the team category and Best Batch Attendance award. Other winners are:

Team Category

Champion                                                    Batch 1999

1st Runner-up                                              Batch 1979

2nd Runner-up                                             Batch 1996

Class A

Champion                                                    Bobby Majarucon, Guest

1st Runner-up                                              Michael Pineda, Guest

2nd Runner-up                                             Dimanche Sales, Guest

Class B

Champion                                                    Lilit Lim, MBM 1979

1st Runner-up                                              Roberto Castanares, MBA 2011 Cohort 6

2nd Runner-up                                             Willy Tee Ten, Guest

Class C

Champion                                                    Glenn Mendoza, Guest

1st Runner-up                                               Ramoel De Veyra, MBM 1998

2nd Runner-up                                              Francisco Silva, Guest


Champion                                                     Vicky Herrera, Guest

1st Runner-up                                               Tin Dacanay, Guest

2nd Runner-up                                              Tess Langomez, Guest

Fun Holes

Nearest To The Pin                                       Kenneth Juarez,Guest

Most Accurate Drive                                     Tess Langomez, Guest

Longest Drive                                                Damas Wong, Guest


In Photo: Homecoming 2019 Golf Tournament Winners


In Photo: MBM 1999 receiving their championship trophy


This golf tournament would not have been possible without the following sponsors: Mustard Seed Systems Corporation, San Miguel Brewery, Tanduay Distillers, Lina Group of Companies, Pioneer Insurance, KPMG International, RG Manabat& Co., Nikkoshi Philippines, FAIM, MBM 1974, MBM 1999, Ayala Land Premier, Maybank Philippines, Mitsubishi Motors, Peak Motors, Autohub Group, AFPSLAI, Friends of AIM and Kampfortis


words by Janelle Erika Corpuz-Santos