This article was first seen on

Jollibee Group Chairman and Founder Dr. Tony Tan Caktiong has been named the 2022 Ramon V. Del Rosario (RVR) Awardee for Nation-building during a recent award ceremony held at the Manila Polo Club.
Dr. Tan Caktiong and his wife Grace Tan Caktiong accepted the award as they were joined onstage by JCI Manila President Richard Lim, 2010 RVR wardee Ambassador Jesus P. Tambunting, PHINMA Chairman and CEO Ramon R. del Rosario, Jr., former Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban, Asian Institute of Management President and Dean Dr. Jikyeong Kang and Ambassador Jose L. Cuisia, Jr.

Dr. Tan Caktiong was chosen as this year’s awardee for his dedication to quality, innovation and excellence, which propelled the Jollibee Group from its humble beginnings to being one of the largest food companies in the world with 18 brands across 34 countries.

Already, one of the largest livelihood providers to its people and business partners the company, through its social development arm – The Jollibee Group Foundation (JGF) – works to continue to improve food access in the country through programs on agri-entrepreneurship for small-scale farmers, feeding programs for underprivileged children, and food distribution during disasters.

During the pandemic, JGF distributed 8.4 million meals for pandemic and disaster-affected across 358 cities and municipalities and 60 provinces from 2020 to June 2022. The company also vaccinated its employees against Covid-19 for free and offered several Jollibee stores in different regions as vaccination site to help speed up the vaccination efforts.

Dr. Tan Caktiong’s advice to students and budding entrepreneurs: “For all aspiring entrepreneurs, I highly encourage you to chase your dreams. And when you achieve your dreams, to dream even bigger. As I earlier said, the only limitations are those we place on ourselves. Believe in yourselves.”

Created in honor of the late Ambassador Ramon V. del Rosario, the RVR Awards is an initiative by JCI Manila in cooperation with the Asian Institute of Management’s Center for Corporate Social Responsibility, with the purpose of recognizing individuals who best exemplify corporate social responsibility and have an underlying passion for nation building.

It aims to recognize men and women who have proven themselves worthy of honor and emulation, and have exhibited the following traits: entrepreneurial spirit, global impact, corporate citizenship and social responsibility. Ambassador Del Rosario, was the founding president of the Junior Chamber International Manila and also acknowledged as the “Father of Philippine Modern Industry.”

Previous awardees include Dr. Jaime Aristotle Alip (2019); Diosdado Banatao (2018); George S.K. Ty (2017); Henry Sy (2016); Manuel V. Pangilinan (2015); Jaime Zobel de Ayala (2014); Vicente Paterno (2013); Washington Sycip (2012); Oscar Lopez (2011); Senen Bacani (2010) and Ambassador Jesus Tambunting (2010).

2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

Four teachers, three soldiers, and three police officers were named recently as the 2022 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos.

“Outstanding Filipinos are defined by character, competence, and compassion. They embody the meaning of “Beyond Excellence” for rendering service above and beyond their call of duty as educators, peacekeepers, and defenders. Their contributions speak of not only caliber, but also of heart and community presence,” said Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto M. Sobrepeña.

Sobrepeña identified the awardees as follows:


(1) Mr. Junmerth C. Jorta, Teacher I and Officer-in-Charge of Keupiyanan Te Balugo (San Fernando, Bukidnon); (2) Christine Joy DR. Aguila, Ph.D., Special Science Teacher 5, Philippine Science High School – Main Campus (Quezon City); (3) Mark Nolan P. Confesor, Ph.D., Professor 6, Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology (Iligan City); and (4) Leonila F. Dans, M.D., M.Sc., Professor 12, University of the Philippines Manila (City of Manila).


(5) Technical Sergeant Joel L. Tuganan PA, First Sergeant of the Delta Company, 33rd Infantry Battalion, 6th Infantry Division, Philippine Army (Radjah Buayan, Maguindanao); (6) Colonel Maria Victoria P. Juan NC, Army Chief Nurse, Office of the Army Chief Nurse, Headquarters Philippine Army (Taguig City); and (7) Colonel Stephen L. Cabanlet PN(M), Assistant Chief of Unified Command Staff for Operations, U3, Western Command, Camp Gen. Artemio Ricarte (Puerto Princesa City, Palawan).

Police Officers:

(8) Police Executive Master Sergeant Rogelio A. Rodriguez Jr., Investigator, Anti-Fraud and Commercial Crimes Unit, Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (Quezon City); (9) Police Captain Rosalino E. Panlaqui, Chief of Police, Jalajala Municipal Police Station (Jalajala, Rizal); and (10) Police Colonel Lambert A. Suerte, Battalion Commander, Regional Mobile Force Battalion – National Capital Region Police Office (Taguig City).

Each awardee will receive a cash prize of P1 million each (net of tax), a golden medallion, and “The Flame” trophy during the conferment ceremonies in September coinciding with Metrobank’s anniversary celebration.

The awardees join the ranks of 685 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos since 1985. The program is held in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Philippine National Police (PNP), PSBank, Rotary Club of Makati Metro, and the Rotary Club of New Manila East.